top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 8/31/2020-9/4/2020

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


What a week it's going to be! If you're in college like me, or perhaps working a full-time or part-time job, your weeks have proven to be busy. Even when the world seems to move slowly in a global pandemic, I feel as if I am moving at hyper-speed. Friday comes almost as quickly as Monday begins.

In honor of the crazy week ahead, and those crazy weeks to come, here are some songs to keep you grounded throughout the chaos:

1) "Can't Let Go, Juno" by Kishi Bashi

Consistently, Kishi Bashi seems to produce some of the most thought-provoking, innovative, and colorful pieces of music. "Can't Let Go, Juno" is simply one of these special pieces. With a beautiful collaboration between electronics, strings, and a driving beat, it isn't hard to fall in love with this song. Go listen!

2) "Camo" by Ryan Beatty

"Camo" is just fun. And fresh. Looking first at sound, Ryan Beatty uses many electronic instruments and a fairly simple drum beat. To create a more unique sound, he purposely isolates fragments of the song in an acapella-like style, waiting for just the right moment to hold your attention before introducing the beat back in. As a music lover, this stylistic choice makes or breaks a song and, luckily for Ryan Beatty, it ABSOLUTELY makes "Camo." Go listen!

3) "Champagne" by Morning Dew

Blending elements of Pop, R&B, Rap, and Jazz, Morning Dew is something special. The 7-piece group from Northwestern University is certainly a diamond in the rough. Their only song out on Spotify, "Champagne," is simply adorable! I don't want to give too much away, but I definitely think you should check them out! Go listen!

**Plus, if you're a Greensboro fan of Reliably Bad, they share a lot of similarities in sound!**

4) "蓮の花 (Hasu no Hana)" by Sakanaction

I wildly obsessed with every thing I have listened to from Sakanaction! "蓮の花 (Hasu no Hana)" is no different. With a strong indie-rock feel and smooth vocals, I feel as if I am in my own coming-of-age film, as the music drives my every seemingly every-day activity. There is not much to say about this song other than endless praise. Go listen!

5) "Runnin' (feat. Busty and the Bass)" by Free n Losh

"Runnin'" is something special. Upon first listen, I was in love. It begins and builds slowly, taking on the form of many indie songs before it. However, what really makes this track stand out is it's incredible use of brass instruments! I am endlessly entranced each and every time I listen to this song and I think you will be too. Go listen!


Have a stellar week!


Peace.


Commenti


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page