top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 11/30/2020-12/4/2020

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


Did ya miss me? :)

I took an unscheduled hiatus last week due to stress from exams, so I apologize for the lack of posts last Monday! However, this week, I am back and better than ever; mostly, because I actually have a TON of new tracks to share with you all that I am very excited about!


Without further ado, here are your Songs of the Week:

1) "Every Second Levitates" by Gam

Oh, I love this one! "Every Second Levitates" was truly my diamond in the rough. Looking at the album cover, I was apprehensive, as the art seemed as if Gam's sound wouldn't be what I wanted. However, this is a classic situation where I should never have judged the song by it's album cover because this track is incredible! Actually, as I write, it pairs quite well with rainy days (as it is currently raining where I am) and those lazy days where you just want to sit inside and be. The harmonies? Art. The bluesy guitar? Incredible. Overall, a fantastic track that you have to listen to right now. Go listen!

2) "Diazepam" by Ren

Y'ALL, "Diazepam" hits! I remember listening to Ren during the summer of 2018, right after I graduated high school. His sound back then reminded me so much of early Ed Sheeran and I had missed that sound. However, revisiting his music now, he has TRULY found his own sound that fits well with my current music taste! "Diazepam" is an electro-alternative love-child that keeps me coming back for more. From the start, we are captivated by Ren's raspy voice and his vocal range--something I never heard from his earlier tracks. It's raw; it's authentic; and it's effortlessly beautiful. I highly recommend this one! Go listen!

3) "Dive" by Tim Atlas

"Dive" is that easy-listening, driving tune that you can't help but cruise to. It reminds me of a more alternative Still Woozy track but with darker tones. Each and every time I listen to this track, I find myself head-bobbing and moving my hips to the beat--it's just THAT good! As I love this song so much, I highly recommend listening to it while the sun sets--it ONLY enhances the experience! Anyway, I'll hop off my soapbox. Just go listen!

4) "Lights" by Brother Zulu

THIS is my hidden gem! "Lights" showed up in my Spotify Weekly last week and I was tempted to make an entire post dedicated to its artistry, but sadly, decided against it as exams were still taking precedence in my life. I feel like I say this for one song every month of so, but, this month, if you were to create my ideal track, "Lights" would be it. It's bluesy, soulful, alternative GENIUS, and you all need to listen to it right now! Go listen!

5) "I Wonder" by DijahSB

This song just smacks RIGHT off the bat! It starts off with this jazz-hop (jazz/hip-hop) rhythm that's accompanied by soft voices singing the backing vocals from Kayne West's own "I Wonder." However, It's impossible to believe this song will stay this soft and simple, as you just FEEL as if something big is coming. As great as the soft singers sound, you know they aren't the main event. Just at that moment, DijahSB enters the scene and presents her flow as crisp and clean as it gets! I am simply obsessed with her sound, her lyrics, and her presence within this song. Before listening, I was slightly hesitant that this would be another dodgy cover of a Kayne West song; however, I was BEYOND surprised and, honestly, prefer this version better than the original. Go listen!


Have a great week!


Peace.

Comments


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page