top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 8/24/2020-8/28/2020

Guys, gals, and non-binary pals!


After a crazy week filled with classes, internet shortages, and a plethora of time-consuming assignments, here are the songs that got me through it all:

1) "He Won't Hold You" by Jacob Collier & Rhapsody

Jacob Collier has done it again! This time, in an powerful R&B tune orchestrating Collier's many talents. The feelings I get from this track are indescribable. With goosebumps aplenty and tears in my eyes, I urge you all to listen to this song and be as profusely moved as I am time and time again. Go listen!

2) "Backyard" by Kota the Friend

In a different vein, Kota the Friend's iconic track, "Backyard," gives off immaculate Tuesday kickback vibes. With a rather simple, yet impeccable backing track, Kota the Friend raps about a summer kickback: a concept that sounds almost alien given the times we find ourselves in today. Listening to "Backyard" during this pandemic has given me a sense of nostalgia, as I reminisce on easier, breezier summer days. I highly encourage you all to listen to this track and have the same experience. Go listen!

3) "Mumbo Sugar" by Arc De Soleil

Oh, the mundane Wednesday blues. Perhaps, they aren't a real thing, but I definitely get them at least every other week. On most of my Wednesdays (and Thursdays...and Fridays...and...you get the point), "Mumbo Sugar" has gotten me through the monotony of back-to-back online classes. I'll say it: the guitar riff in this track is out of this world. Though seemingly simple, it's harmony with the thumpin' bass and laid-back drums will leave you bobbin' your head for eternity. Go listen!

4) "RENE" by Free Nationals & Callum Connor

The Free Nationals can easily be described as a one-of-a-kind group and, more importantly, my current favorites. This R&B/Funk track takes you back to the '70s as Callum Connor croons about his passionate love for the mystical 'Rene.' Even if R&B/Funk tracks aren't your jam, there is no denying that "RENE" is a true work of art. There isn't a single day that goes by where I don't crank this song as loud as it can go. Go listen!

5) "Don't Rush (feat. DaBaby)" by Young T & Bugsey

Big shout-out to 44th President of the United States Barack Obama (we miss you, please come back) for this song! Featured on his annual Summer Playlist**, "Don't Rush (feat. DaBaby)" is THE quintessential Friday song, and one that I am SURE our 44th President blasted after finishing a long week of work. With a spicy afrobeat pairing perfectly with DaBaby's flow, it is actually impossible to not dance to this song. Try it--I dare you. Go listen!


**A ~special~ Top 15 will feature my top 15 favorites from Barack Obama's Summer Playlist and will be coming out this week! Previously, it was supposed to come out this past Friday but, due to Wifi issues last week, it did not get done! However, look for it this week!**


Have a great week!


Peace.


Comentários


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page