top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 11/2/2020-11/6/2020

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


Brrr...what a chilly day today! Though I am up early writing this blog post, I am most definitely bundled up in a warm blanket, sipping my hot coffee as I go. Welcome to November, I suppose! As much as I love October, November might be my favorite month. Just think about it: it's almost eternally crisp; the leaves crunch beneath your feet; and it brings Thanksgiving! Honestly, I cannot think of a better time of year.


To fuel your first week of November, here are your Songs of the Week:

1) "Jackie Onassis" by Sammy Rae

The amount of love I have for this track is immeasurable--I cannot get enough of it! I was first introduced to Sammy Rae by one of my friends when I started this blog. Though she had recommended her music to me in May, I didn't listen to it until recently. I hate myself for that because Sammy Rae is an absolute POWERHOUSE! Writing songs at age 12, Sammy Rae developed a knack for music--specifically, jazz music. Through her love for music, she released her first LP at 15 and her first EP at 18. From there, she created Sammy Rae & The Friends, a group of rotating jazz musicians that accompany her bluesy vocals impeccably. "Jackie Onassis" is her more recent release, coming out just this year. A track about her first female lover, it is beautiful, powerful, and tells the story with such vigor. I cannot recommend this track more, as it is not only lyrically stunning, but musically as well! Want to hear it for yourself? Go listen!


2) "SUNRISE" by MICHELLE

"SUNRISE" by MICHELLE is a great easy-listening track! The 5-piece group has an indie sound, perfectly pairing with many of my other favorite alternative/indie tracks. As their first release since their 2018 debut album HEATWAVE, "SUNRISE" utilizes much of the same harmonic aspects as their previous tracks but features a signature groove. MICHELLE says it better than I ever could, describing their track as, "hold[ing] some kind of a summer air, but more so a longing for someone who could never really show up. A sentiment as sticky, sweaty, and fleeting as summer. 'SUNRISE' is as bittersweet as it is groovy." Go listen!


3) "会いたいわ (Aitaiwa)" by iri

I've loved this song for a while, as it is the perfect early morning driving song. With a nice hip-hop groove and iri's smooth vocals, "会いたいわ (Aitaiwa)" will bless your ears every time. As great as the song is, I feel it wouldn't be right if I didn't also uplift iri's talent as an artist. Iri began her career after winning an audition in 2014 with NYLON JAPAN, quickly becoming popular with her hip-hop influenced style and soulful vocals. Her single, "Watashi," was chosen as the commercial song for Nike Women Japan, and she went on to open for Western acts, such as Donavon Frankenreiter and Corinne Bailey Rae! If you don't know iri now, you should. Go listen to her track, "会いたいわ (Aitaiwa)," and the rest of her discography!


4) "House of Mine" by Kan Sano & Miller Blue

Alright, my lo-fi jazz lovers, this one is for you! "House of Mine" by Kano Sano & Miller Blue combines a lowly studio piano with typical lo-fi beats to create a vibe like no other. What makes this track truly stand out is its use of harmony and a rather creative rap section. Laying above the simple instrumentation of the piano and electronic lo-fi beats, Kan Sano & Miller Blue create something impeccable: smooth harmonies. The change up occurs when the rap section comes in, which usually I wouldn't like, but it actually alters the feel of the piece without completely derailing from the original musical themes. I really love this track! Go listen!


5) "All Yours" by APRE

Perhaps the most contrasting piece on this list, "All Yours" has SUCH a unique sound. First, the electric guitar in the beginning is simply the most ear-pleasing thing I've heard in weeks. I did immediately add this to playlist after hearing that riff. The piece really picks up from there, adopting almost a vintage, '80s synth-heavy sound. However, APRE puts their own spin on it, creating probably the most unique and pleasing sound I have ever heard. I've sat here for too long trying to describe it to you all, but I really don't think there are even words to describe the unique artistry that this sound embodies. Per usual, I urge you all to just go listen!


Have a good week!


Peace.

Comments


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page