top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 10/26/2020-10/30/2020

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


It's officially ~spooky season~!


Y'all, I don't know WHERE October went, but the fact that Halloween is on SATURDAY is blowing my mind! Per usual, this time of year has me swamped with school work, but particularly, THIS school year has been unforgiving. Perhaps, it is the double-whammy of Junior year and COVID-19, but I think my brain is going to explode at any second. If I survive this year, remind me to never (ever) choose to take my capstone course alongside other classes--writing a literature review is HARD!


Schoolwork aside, I have been JAMMING to some great tracks. Seriously. I don't know where all this great music came from--or perhaps, I was just busy listening to the same 10 songs to notice--but I have some stellar picks for you all this week!


Let's listen:

1) "Winners Circle" by Anderson .Paak

I think I am slightly obsessed with this track. 100% obsessed. The modern king of funk himself, Anderson .Paak expertly combines elements of funk, jazz, and rap to create a masterful piece. The piece begins with a funk beat, featuring a heavy bass rhythm and light high-hat on the drum set as Anderon .Paak's raspy vocals dance around the music. Adding in the scat-like vocals from Kelsey Gonzalez, you have a STELLAR track. But, just like an infomercial, wait, there's more. Probably my favorite part of "Winners Circle" is Anderson .Paak's rap verses toward the end of the track. If being a multi-talented musician wasn't enough for him, he is a KILLER rapper. Seriously. Don't believe me? Go listen!


2) "Feels Right" by Danny's Dead

Hello. It's me. Emma's dream song. Okay, but actually, this song smacks! It features a studio piano, bonking some chords (yes, bonking is a word; if you think otherwise, you can take it up with me), simple electronic bass beats, and...wait for it...a BRASSY saxophone. If you know me, I love three instruments: the electric guitar, the drum set, and the saxophone. This song beautifully utilizes the saxophone by contrasting the rather simple instrumentation of the backing track with its brassy, unforgiving tone. I love this track. Go listen!


3) "Evil Woman" by Electric Light Orchestra

Fun fact about me: I have a habit of hearing a song in public that I had completely forgot about until that very moment and being actively obsessed with it for a few months. In 2018, during my first year at UNC, that song was "Uptown Girl" by Billy Joel. After hearing someone in a coffee shop sing a few verses to a friend as I was passing by, I had a eureka moment where I quickly Googled the song, listened to it once, and became utterly obsessed with it. This year, it is "Evil Woman" by Electric Light Orchestra, which I heard with my boyfriend in a pizza restaurant ONCE before listening to it countless times that same week. A few weeks later, I am still listening to it! The quintessential Wednesday tune, "Evil Woman" is simply a bop. I will not debate it. Go listen, right this second.


4) "Dollar" by Electric Guest

Considering I woke up at 5:45am this morning with this song stuck in my head, I thought it would be only right to include it in this week's Songs of the Week. "Dollar" has a feeling of childish excitement! Whenever I listen to this song, I feel like it's the first day of summer, where I am homework- and stress-free. It's virtually impossible not to dance to this song--seriously. "Dollar" will most definitely jazz up your Thursday work sessions and, perhaps, provide a break from the grey, mundane lives we tend to live during the heat of working as you have a sick dance session! Go listen!


5) "Jet Black (feat. Brandy)" by Anderson .Paak

*sigh* Another Anderson .Paak song, Emma? Yep, you betcha. Again, actively obsessed with this song. It is THE perfect Friday, windows down, cruising song--simply show me a better track; I don't think there is one. Every quintessential Friday track needs to have the ability to be BLASTED and bass-boosted in order to be considered as iconic. "Jet Black (feat. Brandy)," as you would've guessed, possesses these qualities. Perhaps, I'm partial, given my personal connection to this track, but I believe this is THE Friday track. Don't believe me? Go listen!


Have a great week!


Comments


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page