top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 10/12/2020-10/16/2020

Hey guys, gals, and non-binary pals!


I hope you are enjoying your October--we are REALLY in the thick of it now! Recently, I feel as if the weeks have been going so quick that I haven't had time to enjoy the autumn weather. I curse university schedules for making THE busiest part of the semester during the best times of the year. However, even though I haven't been able to go outside as much as I want to, I have been able to squeeze some time in to meditate, journal, and curate music for myself. As someone who suffers from periods of anxiety, my brain frequently feels overwhelmed and, rather than powering through my work and staying productive, I often have to stop, do a mindful activity, and then, reassess my productivity.


In the past few months or so, I have found myself unable to express my emotions in words because they don't reach the full capacity of what I truly feel. However, where words fail, music is there. This week, I wanted to share with you a few of my favorite mindful songs, or at least ones that make me stop my thoughts for a second, draw in close, and listen intently. May they aid in your self-care journey or, perhaps, just bless your ears with their melodies.


Without further ado, here are your songs of the week:

1) "Hideaway" by Jacob Collier

Starting us off is a track that is near and dear to my heart: "Hideaway" by Jacob Collier. Created entirely in his London room, "Hideaway" produces a sort of childish whimsy that many of us have lost since growing up. Using a cornucopia of instruments and stacked harmonies, Collier creates a masterpiece that can only be truly enjoyed when one listens fully and completely. For me, that means laying on the floor in my room, pretending the ceiling is a star full of clouds and I, the dreamer, am lightly jumping from star to star, laughing, playing, and remembering childish delight. During periods of high productivity, I like to listen to this track and give my brain the ability to feel the simple emotions when the world is so complex and overwhelming at times. Go listen.

2) "Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence" by Ryuichi Sakamoto

"Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence" is one of those tracks that move me in such a way that I cannot multitask while listening. Featuring a simple cluster of instruments, Sakamoto tells a story of love and loss in a span of nearly 5 minutes. The beginning section is soft and shy, utilizing a piano and solo violin as its only means of expression. However, suddenly, there is a jump in intensity and more instruments add in to the story like additional characters, symbolizing the passion of love and the risk of loss. "Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence" by simply breathtaking and, though it is a shorter track, it captures one of life's most sought after emotions beautifully and holistically. I urge you all to go listen.

3) "Ultralight Beam" by Sunday Service Choir

Perhaps, I am just a fan of church chords, but "Ultralight Beam" by Kanye West's Sunday Service Choir takes my soul to another dimension. A gospel cover of the Kanye West, Kirk Franklin, and Chance the Rapper track, "Ultralight Beam," this track moves even the least musical listeners. As a musician, the chord-stacking in this piece is unreal; there are so many moving parts that make "Ultralight Beam" magical. Specifically, the isolated choir vocals gives me chills down my spine as I can literally feel my brain being transported out of my body and into a space of complete serenity. Whenever I listen to this piece, I have to immediately stop what I am doing so that I can fully appreciate the endless talent this group serves. Go listen and let your ears be blessed.

4) "He Won't Hold You" by Jacob Collier

The fact that I squeal a bit internally every time the beginning of this song is played should tell you enough how much I adore this song. Unlike the other tracks on his third album, Djesse Vol. 3, "He Won't Hold You" is intimate, lush, and poetic. Beginning with the first note, Collier creates a explosive image of colorful deep blues and purples, as he uses dynamic harmonies and deep bass. Though the instrumentation is not as elaborate as his other tracks, I believe that is part of the point. Rather than give us a space to marvel at his musical talent, Collier, instead, gives the stage to Rhapsody, whose spoken word poetry leads the piece to its most pinnacle point. Perhaps, I am just a music nerd, but "He Won't Hold You" isn't a piece that should be worked over; it should be enjoyed to its fullest in silence and deep contemplation. Go listen.

5) "Truth" by Kamasi Washington

If you know me, you aren't shocked by this final track, as I am virtually unable to do anything while listening to it. "Truth" transports the listener through a swirling, captivating 14-minute journey through every indescribable emotion known to man. It begins softly, teasing you and making you believe what you'll receive is a nice, soft jazz track with which you can complete your daily tasks to without disruption. Perhaps, a nice easy-listening tune that you can drown out within seconds. But, no. Absolutely not. What Kamasi Washington gives us is something I cannot describe in words; a deep feeling that people search for indefinitely, without any idea of what it actually feels like until they experience it head-on. However, the second the brassy saxophone riff expertly collides with the melodious choral voices, we know what Washington gives us. For, in those 14-minutes, Kamasi Washington produces one of the most dynamic, intense, yet sweet and secretive feelings of all time: love. In 14 entire minutes, love is "Truth" and "Truth" is love. Go listen.


留言


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page