top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Songs of the Week: 9/28/2020-10/2/2020

Updated: Dec 14, 2020

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


HOW is it almost October?! I feel like September just started!


With the impending start of October, and the start of a new week, I found myself not having to look far for new music. As you all know, my default music taste is highly influenced by jazz--perhaps, due to my experience as a jazz pianist in high school. However, it seems that, this time around, my Spotify Weekly NAILED my taste and I actively struggled to narrow it to down to only a week's worth of songs. The amount of music I found this morning equates to two whole weeks of tracks, so keep on the lookout for some special posts showcasing new finds, old playlists, and, of course, my forever favorites! For now, here are your Songs of the Week:

1) "Time" by Ava Madison

When I think of autumn, I am immediately think of jazz. The sounds and rhythm of jazz seem to pair perfectly with the crisp weather and vibrant colors. As the perfect autumn track, "Time" combines a traditional jazz track with bright vocals. Upon listening to this track, I was instantly hooked, and most certainly kicking myself that I didn't discover Ava Madison and her talent sooner! If you are looking for that perfect song to kick off the autumnal season, go listen to "Time"!


2) "Probably Up" by Lawrence

A big Lawrence fan myself, I was jazzed when another one of their tracks crept onto my Spotify Weekly. "Probably Up" is such a great morning track! With their use of crisp brass and vocal harmonizations, Lawrence creates a youthful feeling of Sunday morning brunch. It's a specific feeling, but a joyful feeling nonetheless. Go listen to this incredible track for a sense of nostalgia and endless splendor!


3) "Twenty Two and Some Change" by Stephen Day

Need a track for your autumn day road-trips? "Twenty Two and Some Change" is the song for you! Between Stephen Day's soft vocals and his rather sparse use of instrumentation, this track will transport you back to that early morning family road-trip to the mountains, where the air is crisp and the leaves are bright. It feels nostalgic and fresh, but relatable. There are endless things to say about "Twenty Two and Some Change," but they all lead to the same recommendation: go listen!


4) "Good Thing" by Sure Sure

I am actively obsessed with about every song that Sure Sure puts out! From their falsetto harmonies and garage-band feel, their sound fits perfectly in an indie coming-of-age movie. "Good Thing" takes this sound head-on and transforms it into something incredible! I can't truly put into words how wonderful this track is--all I can say is, go listen!


5) "Before I Knew You" by Erez Zobary

This time around, I really think my Spotify Weekly pegged my music taste head-on. In her electric track, "Before I Knew You," Erez Zobary is THE artist that I needed in my life! Her vocals are unmatched! In addition to Erez Zobary's vocal talent, the backing track of "Before I Knew You" is everything I could've ever asked for. It's built upon a traditional funk pattern while utilizing sharp brassy tones and the reverberation of an electric bass. This track is a must-listen, so what are you waiting for? Go listen!


Have a great week!


Peace.

Comments


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page