top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Top 15 Picks: July 2020

Y'all!! Here is the July Edition of Top 15 Picks!

Warning: It is slightly chaotic in genre, but there seems to be a mix between r&b, rap, alternative, and the like! I just couldn't stay within one genre or vibe of music--all of these have been on REPEAT for me during the month of July!


Enjoy!


"Fever" by Just Friends

As Just Friends' most popular track, "Fever" gives you those 'head-banging' moments while keeping a laid-back beat. I know--confusing, but it works so well! I never expected myself to like this track as much as I do, but I cannot get enough of it!


"Light on the Moon" by Camp Howard

This song is just GREAT! I first learned of Camp Howard from a friend and, since listening to their discography, I've really enjoyed their sound. I highly recommend this track, but you should totally listen to the rest of their songs; specifically, "Don't Say Shit You Don't Mean" and "Bubba Two-Shoes!"


"Paris" by Magic Man

I think, for the past week or so, this is the FIRST song I play in the car. I just LOVE it! If you've been in a car with me recently, I have definitely held back the urge to scream the chorus as loud as I can; trust me, it's hard not to.


"Amerika" by Young the Giant

This is probably my favorite Young the Giant song to date, besides, of course, "Mind Over Matter." It has such a unique sound and demonstrates a powerful story. As much as I would love to describe the entire meaning behind this track, I believe their description in this Rolling Stones article explains it best!


"聴きたかったダンスミュージック、リキッドルームに" (”Kikitakatta Dance Music, Liquid Room ni”) by Sakanaction

This song is just GROOVY! I don't personally speak Japanese, so I can't understand the lyrics, but that has definitely not kept me from enjoying this track. And it shouldn't keep you from enjoying it either!


"In This Ocean, Pt. 1" by Kings Kaleidoscope (and "In This Ocean, Pt. 2" by Kings Kaleidoscope)

Both of these tracks are phenomenal! I'm not usually a fan of songs with multiple parts, but Kings Kaleidoscope executes these two perfectly. Each are great on their own, but when listened to consecutively, the experience is extra magical!

Go listen to Pt. 1 here! And Pt. 2 here!


"Circles" by Vista Kicks This song just BOPS! It has that electric guitar riff I just love and, whenever I listen to this track, all I wanna do is dance!


"Forrest Gump" by Frank Ocean

"Forrest Gump" is just one of those songs I've never been able to get enough of! I'm a lifelong Frank Ocean fan and, to me, this track is easily one of his best. Nothing much to say besides, why haven't you heard it yet?!


"Reborn" by KIDS SEE GHOSTS Funny story about this group: KIDS SEE GHOSTS is actually a collaboration effort between both Kayne West and Kid Cudi! No wonder I love it so much! This track, in particular, is stellar. It has a super chill vibe with a unique sound!


"If It Don't Work" by Carter Ace

This is a GROOVY one! Combining elements of jazz and laid-back funk, Carter Ace has created an extra special feel in "If It Don't Work." I highly recommend listening to this track and letting the groove take over!


"Bordeaux" by BRKN

A German song about a rich, red-wine color? What's not to love! In all seriousness, this song is incredible, even if you don't speak German. During this track, BRKN completely knocks the socks off a gritty saxophone solo while heavy bass echoes in the background! Kinda cool, right?

Fun fact about this song: A few days before I started my third semester of German, I practiced my translating skills by translating the entirety of "Bordeaux." I think, in that time, I listened to it AT LEAST 40-50 times...so now I know all the words. It's definitely a great song to use to practice your German pronunciation, as BRKN tends to go quite quickly when he sing-raps toward the end of the piece!


"Dang! (feat. Anderson.Paak)" by Mac Miller

Even if you weren't a fan of Mac Miller, you can't deny that he put out some incredible tracks. "Dang! (feat. Anderson.Paak) is certainly one of these great songs! With a groovy, yet jazzy, feel, Mac and Anderson.Paak spit out lyrical genius to a backing track that will leave you dancing up out of your seat.


"Freeze Tag (feat. Kamasi Washington & Phoelix)" by Terrace Martin

This song is a masterpiece, just like the entire Dinner Party album! The best way I can even begin to describe "Freeze Tag" is passionately soulful...and if THAT doesn't make you want to give it a listen, I don't know what will!


"There She Go" by Garren Sean

Y'ALL--I think this is my new favorite song! It's SO groovy! It's tight! I think it's physically impossible to NOT bob your head to the beat! Plus, the guitar lick in this piece transports me to another dimension.

댓글


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page