top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Uhrlass

Hot Takes: Oldies Are Indeed Goldies

Updated: Sep 6, 2021

Hey guys, gals, & non-binary pals!


You ever listen to an older song for the first time, or the first time in a while, and you're instantly filled with an abundance of happiness? Yes?


Then, you've come to the right place. Today, we are going to explore that concept on Hot Takes, as well as find out a bit of science behind listening to oldies over newer songs. We will also examine what makes something timeless, and why we experience this sensation of 'instant joy' when listening to older tunes. In my opinion, this phenomenon is why older music is superior to newer tracks released today.


No, I'm not acting as a hipster and I'm not just trying to be 'quirky.' Seriously, oldies are indeed goldies! Don't believe me? A bit skeptical? Let's read & listen!

 

If you would've asked me what artists I would be listening to in my 20's, I don't think I could've predicted the Bee Gees. "More Than A Woman" by The Bee Gees is one of those tracks that brings me instant joy. Within the first 15 seconds, I am up and I am dancing, horribly, at that. My brain almost feels fuzzy, as I smile ear to ear and feel all the good feelings.


'Instant joy' is hard to explain. It's the spiritual embodiment of that 'main character energy' concept you see everywhere among teen culture, where every song serves as a soundtrack to YOUR life and nobody else's. It's like it's summer all the time, where the top is down, the air is warm, and you're endlessly smiling at your youth. I know, I'm making myself sound old as a 20-year-old woman, but that's why this phenomenon of 'instant joy' boggles my mind so much. Why do I get these feelings of youth from songs older than myself?


A few days ago, I inquired some of my friends about the phenomenon of 'instant joy' and asked what older songs produced this feeling in them. And, wow, did they deliver! From a very small sample size of 8 people, I received a multitude of songs from the '50s until the late '80s that gave that feeling of 'instant joy.' These songs included the likes of Daryl Hall & John Oates, Stevie Wonder, KC & The Sunshine Band, and The Supremes, as well as countless other artists from the older years. I found it both heartwarming and incredibly interesting that, as one friend recommended a song or two, the others would uplift that song, sounding a chorus of, "Yes!!," "LOVE that one!" and other exclamatory phrases, as if we were advocating for our favorite songs. However, these were songs many of us hadn't heard in years, or ever! What made these songs so special to us?


Turns out, it has to do with how memories attach to songs. For many of us, the songs that we enjoy the most are the ones we share positive memories with. Science supports this phenomenon, as some researchers have found a link between the connectivity in the auditory regions of our brain and our hippocampus. The hippocampus, which is in charge of memory, 'pairs' the auditory input with a specific memory, or set of memories, and sends a neural signal to the hypothalamus to release dopamine. That's why, for many of us, the revisit to an older song results in dopamine-filled nostalgia! For me, "Candy Girl" by New Edition is my nostalgic dopamine release, as it brings back the memory of nighttime car rides with my family. For you, it might be how "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" reminds you of sing-alongs with your grandparents, or how watching Saturday Night Fever once as a teenager brings back your love for Disco-era music once more.


Even if we do not have formative, concrete memories with older music, the sheer fact that these songs are familiar to us makes us love them even more. Why do you think entire families and friend groups rejoice each and every time "Bohemian Rhapsody" by Queen comes on in the car? It's overplayed, but yet, we still love it for the masterpiece that it is because it is so familiar to us. And, it's just objectively a great song, especially from a musician's perspective.


What about the older songs we had never heard before, yet feel a deep connection toward, as if we had memories from a past life attached to these tunes?


All roads lead to nostalgia.


If you remember, I did a post talking about something similar but pertaining to the social media app, TikTok, and the rise of the Y2K movement. In this case, I think something similar is happening here.


Before this year, I had never heard, "More Than A Woman" by the Bee Gees. I was actually on TikTok when I heard it for the first time and it instantly felt familiar. In hindsight, perhaps I had heard this song before when I was very young and lacked the memory to really remember, but at this time, my brain perceived it as a fresh listen. Within the first hour of discovering it, I had essentially listened to it at least 10 or 15 times. I know, call me crazy, but I couldn't help it. It was beautiful and evoked something in me that I felt had been hidden for so long: nostalgia.


"More Than A Woman" evokes that feeling of 'instant joy' for me, as I imagine myself cruising through a busy town square at the high of noon, sunglasses on, windows down, and effortlessly enjoying myself. I imagine myself at a disco, maybe in an alternate reality where I'm actually good at dancing, and lighting up the dance floor with my impeccable outfit. I can see warm oranges, yellows, and deep reds, perhaps signifying an end credits scene to the movie of my life, in which I look out into the sunset and smile. Overall, what I experience is the joy of life, and that is something that I want to hold onto forever.


At the beginning of this post, I shared with you a playlist very special to me: "Oldies? Goldies." Though a comical title, these songs evoke that feeling of 'instant joy' to myself and those I am close to. They are riddled with nostalgia, personal memories, and, most importantly, snippets of true happiness.


In a world filled with uncertainty, it can feel silly to celebrate these seemingly nostalgic moments, or perhaps even seek out happiness. After all, each of us has a multitude of burdens on our backs, and adding one more burden of 'finding a bit of joy can seem troublesome. It requires work--I know! And some days, it is hard.


My hope is that these songs remind you of better days and give you the strength to continue your journey in the beautiful experience that is life. I don't assume these songs will cure your ailments, but they might give you a 5-minute taste of joy. A 5-minute taste of joy can do wonders to your day, even if it does not seem like a lot.


So, go. Listen to this playlist or the songs that bring you that feeling of 'instant joy.' May they make you look at living through a different lens, and bring a little happiness to your day.


Keep going, friends! I'm glad you made it this far! :)


Peace.











Comments


Contact Me

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page